Presentation

I've always wanted to start a blog, I created one of poems and deactivated it some time later, but I've never made one to express myself, but I've got tired of putting it off, and as much as I still don't have a name I like, here's a provisional name until the eureka of the right one appears.

Have you ever had to hide something from everyone, something that if they knew, they would look at you differently? That is how I am in the virtual world, I hide my condition and in trying to hide it I have ended up building a character with my own personality and temperament. Why do I do this? Partly out of shame and partly because I hate the idea of people feeling sorry for me and treating me differently.

The few times I've revealed my condition I've always turned people away and that's been terrible because I've turned away from amazing people. There are two friends I haven't moved away from, one from Minas Gerais and the other from the North East.

Perhaps you, dear reader, are wondering what my condition is, so I will explain: I am a carrier of DMD (Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy), a genetic disease that causes muscle atrophy over time. I stopped walking at the age of 11 and since then I have become a hermit and live on the internet, today - at the age of 26 - I cannot do anything on my own.

This blog is nothing more than a diary of life as a Duchenne patient. I'll talk about whatever I want, impressions of my limitations, frustrations, etc. Ending in this way makes it seem as if there will only be melancholy posts, but I will try to be optimistic in spite of the occasional bouts of depression.

10/11/22, Tuesday
↑Índex